Talking to Strangers ~ Wicked Wednesday ~

It’s another Wicked Wednesday!

When was the last time you answered a question that was never directed at you? I have done it many times, but today, I’m going to tell you about one specific occasion upon which this nightmarish event occurred.

niX6dy9iB

I was in a store called Red Dot, which is a kind of two dollar store. I don’t know how old I was, I can’t have been too young, but not too old either, and I must have been doing Christmas shopping.

So there I was, quietly minding my own business, looking down aisles for gift inspiration, when a woman appears. She was probably in her 30’s, give or take. I’d have said nothing. I didn’t know the lady, I’d never seen her before in my life. I wouldn’t have assumed she was talking to me, of course I wouldn’t have, but she was looking right at me, expectantly, like she was waiting for an answer.

She asked something about plates, or something else along those lines. I waited, she waited, neither of us said anything, and then, as she seemed so much to be waiting for me to answer, I did. I sort of stuttered out an I don’t know, I think. She laughed, and told me that she’d been talking to her son in the next aisle.

What have I learnt from this? Don’t talk to strangers, even when thats what they seem to want you to do. Head down, and pretend you have no clue what they’ve said. Also, whenever I talk to someone in public, I will make sure that person is within view of those nearby, lest some other little girl think that I am asking her opinion of plates she will never eat off of, because I do not know her.

Keep Smiling!

~Shade x

Leave a Reply

