Woodworking ~ Wicked Wednesday ~

I thought I was going to be great at woodwork, I really did.

There was television show when I was kid, in which a teenage girl was excellent at it, completely beyond what is humanly possible, she was that good.

blog1

Something in me expected the same to happen for myself. Probably needless to say; it didn’t go to plan.

I am rubbish at woodwork, utterly rubbish, the absolute worst. The tools freak me out, and so do the scary stories the teachers always told. I was not good with a saw, and too often I let other people do my work for me instead of doing it myself.

In one school, I made a pencil holder. The holes were a little crooked, but it was alright. It functioned, and that was enough. In a second school, we had to make a holder of some kind. I picked a box, fairly basic I thought, only we had to chop the wood by hand and even after a term of work I was left with no more than 5 crooked and unusable pieces of wood. The third school, it was a spinning top. I don’t really know how that went, because I did so little of it myself. All I was really involved in was decorating with the burning tool after it was finished, at which point I managed to burn myself and lost interest.

It just didn’t go as I thought it would. My woodworking dreams did not come to fruition. I will never be the Queen of mother’s day gifts, I will never craft a hat stand I don’t need. That’s life. Despite how much I thought it would be my one true talent, woodworking was just never destined to be my forte.

Keep Smiling!

~Shade x

Leave a Reply

